The Student Room Group

Why are some people so self righteous?

So recently in my school we’ve applied for universities. Many of my friends have received interviews for Oxford, Cambridge, Durham etc. I didn’t even think about applying as none of them offer a course I wanted to take. As a Scottish student, I applied for only Scottish universities. I applied to Dundee, Glasgow school of art, Glasgow Caledonian and Abertay. My teachers say I would have had an extremely high chance of getting into whichever course I wanted. However, I love art and video games, movies, television. I chose to apply to animation, illustration, VFX courses. I am very happy with my decisions and am not rethinking my choices.

Here’s the thing. I am great at writing, maths, languages, science, whatnot. None of my teachers seemed content with the fact I was choosing to throw this all away for an art degree. I really don't care. I didn’t understand why they were so sceptical, but then I learned more about how people treat certain courses, especially since I attended an independent school. My friends are always comparing uni rankings and that cr*p, they seem to think that unless you aspire of going to Oxford, you’re beneath them. I told everyone I applied to art courses and they all started saying “I know you’ll get in, your so smart, it’s not really difficult at all since it’s an arts course and the uni isn’t that good”. Now, I’m able to deal with **** talk, but this is an omnipresent attitude towards certain universities. My bests friend wants to go to Queen Margaret and he receives the same hate for his choices too.