CharlotteM2019
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi,

I'm a UK resident looking to start on a Teacher Training course in September 2020. I have two children under the age of 3 and we live in London. I am currently working part-time.

Our childcare costs are £1,800 a month (ridiculous but the cheapest option available in our area!), so I really need the Childcare Grant to cover some of this to even be thinking about becoming a Maths Teacher.

My husband's salary covers the bills and mine covers the childcare costs. Although he is well paid we have an astronomically large mortgage. We have no spare cash after our expenses. What are the thresholds that the Childcare Grant have in place?

Anyone else struggled with this? Surely this would be a blocker for most career-changers based in London. I've even considered moving out of London- but it's my home

Kind Regards,
Charlotte
Duncan SFE
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by CharlotteM2019)
Hi,

I'm a UK resident looking to start on a Teacher Training course in September 2020. I have two children under the age of 3 and we live in London. I am currently working part-time.

Our childcare costs are £1,800 a month (ridiculous but the cheapest option available in our area!), so I really need the Childcare Grant to cover some of this to even be thinking about becoming a Maths Teacher.

My husband's salary covers the bills and mine covers the childcare costs. Although he is well paid we have an astronomically large mortgage. We have no spare cash after our expenses. What are the thresholds that the Childcare Grant have in place?

Anyone else struggled with this? Surely this would be a blocker for most career-changers based in London. I've even considered moving out of London- but it's my home

Kind Regards,
Charlotte
Hi Charlotte,

Do you know an estimate as to what your husband earned in the 18/19 tax year?

Regards, Duncan
CharlotteM2019
Rep:
?
Hi Duncan, it was over £100,000 (including bonus).