Getting into Graphic design course with a fine art porfolio?

Watch
ausername123
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am wanting to apply for a graphic design course, however I have little to no experience in actual graphic design. The majority of my portfolio is made up of my art & design studies, mainly fine art, but I do have many pieces which I created using photoshop and I am well versed in using computers for artwork. my finishing grade in art & design is D*D*D* too so I'm wondering if many universities will accept me on this basis or if I'm going to have to wait to apply next year and bulk up my portfolio with at home graphic design work instead. I'm hoping to go to NTU or Lincoln.
kazz_116
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I am hoping to apply for graphic design soon as well! In my case, I haven't ever done art for gcse's or a levels, and the closest subject that i do to graphic design is product design a level. I only recently decided that I really want to study graphic design and started to make things for my portfolio in my own time. I was worried about my skills for drawing etc but many unis have said that they just want to see your creativity and development of ideas. I would say maybe do a few pieces of work that is more related to graphic design to show that you're really interested in it and then include them in your portfolio. I still have a few more things to make and i'm struggling to figure out whether to do more graphics or more drawing, so i'm as confused as you are hahah. I'm hoping to go to DMU or NTU too.
University of Lincoln
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hi ausername123,

We are glad to hear you are interested in studying Graphic Design with us!