ellaxjonez
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, I am a year 12 student hoping to study veterinary medicine a university and therefore am trying to get as much work experience as possible. I currently volunteer at a cattery and have arranged for some practise over Christmas at a vet practise. Was just wondering if anyone knew of any lambing farms that would take on a student will no experience? I am from Cheshire but could travel
Torigracex
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Best bet is just to contact all the ones you can find online/ask at the practice if they know anyone and see who’ll take you! If you can’t get any it isn’t too big of a deal (I’ve never seen lambing and I’ve got an offer for Bristol vet med already so far), it’s more about how much you can talk about what you have seen rather than sheer volume of what you’ve seen. Hope this helps x
Georgiaw1092
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by ellaxjonez)
Hi, I am a year 12 student hoping to study veterinary medicine a university and therefore am trying to get as much work experience as possible. I currently volunteer at a cattery and have arranged for some practise over Christmas at a vet practise. Was just wondering if anyone knew of any lambing farms that would take on a student will no experience? I am from Cheshire but could travel
I’m also in year 12 and I’m trying to get as much as I can in a year. Have you tried looking at the National Sheep Association (lambing work experience). I was offered 4/5 weeks from different farmers but I only managed to accept 2 weeks because of my school being strict. I would also recommend asking a local farm if you can volunteer because that’s how I’ve managed to get the more rural work experience through a diary farm that I regularly help out at ( another 2 weeks lambing and a large animal practice ). I didn’t know any farmers but managed to get a number of off a friend so maybe try asking around. Hope this helps and good luck.