The Student Room Group

Anxiety about grades?

I'm a year 12 student and I have a lot of anxiety about university because of my GCSE grades.

GCSE results is an incredibly sensitive subject for me. I fully well know that I performed poorly (for me) during my exams which has led me to feel ashamed and disappointed of my grades. It causes me a lot of anxiety about getting into a top university and generally because they seem count for literally everything rn. I know my parents are proud of me for my grades regardless because I had a really ****ty year 11 (I was in a toxic/abusive situation with a boyfriend at the time which led me to attempt suicide when the relationship broke down) but I can't help but feel like **** about my grades and I don't know what to do anymore. I also feel like I can't speak about it with anyone.

Can someone please help me??? :frown:
Reply 1
Firstly, well done for finding a way of saying something about this.
Secondly, well done for getting through your GCSEs and on to A levels. That's an achievement in itself, let alone with the challenges you've faced thrown into the mix.
If there's none of the staff at your school you can talk to, have you spoken to your GP about your mental health? It's part of what they're there for. I'm assuming you're 16+ being in year 12 so, before any other worries happen, you don't have to take your parents to GP appointment if you don't want to & confidentiality = GP can't tell your parents without your permission...