Any advice on applying for a publishing postgrad (specifically within the UK)?

Watch
Converse&Roses
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I graduated with a 2:1 in English and Language & Linguistics this June and I have been having issues finding a paid job in editing/publishing just with that degree. Obviously I know that thousands of other UK graduates have more or less the exact same degree as me, so that doesn't help either. All I've managed to get within the past six months that's actually somewhat related to a career in publishing is some editorial volunteer work and an unpaid internship with a publishing house in London that only lasted one month. So, I think the next logical step would be to apply for a masters in publishing.

I've managed to come up with a list of courses that I would like to apply to within the UK, but I would like to make a shortlist within that. This is what I have at the moment:

1. Publishing MA at UAL
2. Publishing MA at University of Derby
3. MA Publishing at University of Plymouth
4. Digital Publishing MA at Oxford Brookes University
5. Publishing MA at UCL
6. Publishing MA at Kingston University London
7. Publishing Media MA at Oxford Brookes University
8. Publishing Studies MLitt at University of Stirling

If anyone has any advice on which courses are better and have better employability rates, that would be great, as I currently haven't been able to find any obvious stats for any of these courses. I think it's also pretty likely that I'll have to move to London, or at least somewhere in England to do a publishing masters, so any advice on funding and scholarships would be great

Also, would it be worth getting a membership with SYP while I'm applying and waiting to see if I get into any of these courses? I should also note that I am currently living in Scotland, so some of the events may not be that accessible to me if they're all in London.
londonmyst
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago