Haven't done ICT since college, but want to get into it.

Watch
cbaforcba
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
Hi all, I finished college June 2018 and I would be entering my second year of uni now, but Uni never appealed to me so I just went straight into work, anyways I have worked full time at my local Waitrose since then which is just over a year and a month ago and whilst I was at college I worked at Wetherspoons part time, anyways I am now looking to get a job in ICT, which is the career I want to go in.

In college I studied a BTEC Level 3 extended diploma in ICT, I know it's not exactly impressive, but none the less, I studied it at college and now want to go into ICT, my problem is that since it has been so long, I have literally forgot 90% of the stuff I learnt, obviously I remember the basics like spreadsheets/Photoshop etc, but when it comes to more complex things like coding, I couldn't even tell you the simple basics of that, is there anything I can do when applying for jobs in ICT to explain this, but say I do believe that all I need is a little refresher and it would all come back to me, well a majority of it would anyways cause I feel like if I do say this, this would just turn off any potential employer.
winterscoming
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
It's definitely good to brush up your skills - there's a lot of online resources you could use:

Try some free online coding courses:
Python:
Challeninge yourself with some of these can help a lot too:

Web Design/Development (HTML, CSS, Bootstrap, JavaScript):

SQL -- databases are used in a lot of places, so it's good to be able to at least use all the common commands and clauses:

Learn to use "Git" for storing any code you write -- this is really useful for a lot of IT jobs, particularly anything related to programming: https://www.udacity.com/course/versi...ith-git--ud123