Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Sometimes my parents can really annoy me with their contradictions. For example:

1) I am currently looking for a job (really desperate for one), and obviously job hunting is a job in itself - i.e. ring agencies, fill in app forms, etc. Whenever I say to my dad I am working, I get this "is that all you do? work" argument yet my dad tells me I should religiously look for jobs all the time, etc etc. I guess next time my dad asks me what I am doing I will say I'm just on the PC wasting my potential. I use the PC a lot as I work in IT (or will be once I land a job) and my dad says I should also practise my trade, which is programming. This I do everyday but of course my dad says this but doesn't approve when I do it in practise. My trade and career orientated skills are one of my very hobbies thanks to a coming point in this thread, and I take what I do extremely seriously. Come a programming test as part of a job application, though, and I will have all of my dad's attention on tackling the problem. Other than that, despite my dad being a programmer in the past, and me currently being one, we rarely talk programming or IT in general. When we do, it's a debate about Operating Systems.

But my dad always encourages my cousins, most of whom are younger than me, to work hard. I did, but when I continue to do so to support my career potential, it's frowned upon.

I guess I could always waste away like my older brother...