Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    OK, so i got a 2:2 for my biomedical science degree and i have appplied for a couple universities to do courses related to Public Health. I am considering doing a PhD mainly cos i am interested in the Public health/Health policy field, i was just wondering how difficult/easy is it to gain admission to a PhD program in a public health related field?

ReputationRep:
    Masters degree first?

ReputationRep:
    With a 2:2 in your graduate degree, I tihnk it'll be quite difficult (to get funding, at least) without a masters degree, as per Tomber's suggestion.

ReputationRep:
    Yeah i am doing a masters first (hopefully). I am just hoping i gain admission into my school of choice.

ReputationRep:
    Loads of people go on to do PhDs after 2.2s + postgrad masters, in the sciences anyway.

ReputationRep:
    are you changing to a new field? if so, your undergrad classification may matter less if your masters performance is strong (which it can be), but funding is an issue if its only a social science-based research project you are interested in because research councils (esrc) require a 2.1. minimum. i learnt that natural science phds are typically funded, but social science and arts/humanities rarely are - they are simply not as profitable so less cash is around.

ReputationRep:
    Does Public Health/ Social Policy count as social science or science?

ReputationRep:
    policy research is social science, not natural science, even though the policies may relate to the empirical biomedical.

ReputationRep:
    https://www.esrc.ac.uk/ESRCInfoCentr...cePageId=18260

ReputationRep:
    As you are going to switch field than if you can get onto a masters then you'll probably stand a chance as having the biomedical knowledge at any level will probably be desirable for certain projects.

ReputationRep:
    that type of knowledge can be very scant amongst social scientists

ReputationRep: