The Student Room Group

Do I have enough time?

Deleted
(edited 1 year ago)
Hey Toblerone_bear,

Have you gone to university before? or are you looking to re-enter education to get a comp sci degree?

I've gone through something similar, in terms of a career change to tech as well as cramming A-levels into 1 year, so I can only speak from my own personal experience, so feel free to take this with a pinch of salt.

Career change into Tech
In terms of making a career change into tech, i didn't do it via university. I studied Economics at University and after a few months working in a office, I decided to change careers into tech and have recently got my self a graduate job at a big tech company (I'm not gonna say the name of the company here).

The way I made the transition was through a coding bootcamp and then learning on my own for a while. I think I lucked out a little bit as I was able to make the transition but it was also a lot of hard work. I mainly learnt by building apps on my own, learning JavaScript and React as well as building up my portfolio and following online coding tutorials.

Only thing I can recommend is to keep your options open. If you haven't been to university before and want to go to get the university life experience as well as get a comp sci degree, then definitely go. I learnt a lot at university, not just my degree and the experiences you can get from it is worth it.

However, if you're just solely looking for a career change, you can always initially try and learn on your own first before quitting your job and going to uni. I don't know what a comp sci degree will be like, but drawing from my experience from economics in university, I learnt a lot of things that I will probably never use, even if I did go into finance. It made me lose interest in the subject and I didn't want that for tech. Also, because I've been to uni already, I can't get another student loan so it would be expensive as hell to do another degree.