miloumontague
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi everybody. New to this place. I’m currently studying National 5 English and I’m finding it very difficult. I have an incredibly good grasp of the English language in terms of words and grammar, but it’s extremely clear that this is not what the course is about and I am incredibly confused.

I am completely fine with the folio. However, RUAE and Scottish Set Text is where it becomes way more confusing. I don’t understand how to answer the questions (my teachers tell me I spent S2-3 learning to do this, but I don’t remember doing anything?) and why exactly I have to interpret the texts that deeply.

I’m autistic and find it difficult to do homework at home, however my teacher insists that if I study I’ll get a higher grade than a C (which was my prelim result).

She is completely ignorant of the fact that I can barely concentrate on work I do at home, and it’s really disheartening as I need National 5 in this subject at C to go to uni and have a chance at doing a course I’m very keen on. I was considering taking it to Advanced Higher, but I’m finding it so hard that I might as well drop it and do Modern Studies (which I’ve taken a real interest in lately, and took until the end of S3) instead.

Does anybody have any good advice, links or resources to help me out with this course? It would break my heart to lose my chance to go to uni and study to do my dream job all because of this absurdly hard subjects. I think the SQA have a lot to ask themselves if I got a C in an English prelim, but A in a modern languages prelim...
N Elliott
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by mapplethorpian)
Hi everybody. New to this place. I’m currently studying National 5 English and I’m finding it very difficult. I have an incredibly good grasp of the English language in terms of words and grammar, but it’s extremely clear that this is not what the course is about and I am incredibly confused.