ParticleWizard
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
Hey guys, I'm a year 11 student in the UK and I have developed a strong interest in actuary, especially with calculating risk and statistics. However, I do have a few questions that I have yet to understand

My first question is what's the difference between an Actuarial science degree over a Mathematics and Actuarial Science degree?
From my understanding, One is a single subject and the other is joint and I'm wondering what's the benefit of studying maths along with actuarial science over just picking actuarial science itself since I've heard in a joint degree, you learn 50% from both subjects.

My second question is related to the first and arguably not related to the subject of Actuary:
Why do most Actuaries have maths degrees and what are the benefits of having a Maths degree?
I understand that a Maths degree is very broad and has a variety of career options which is why many people pick Maths as they have no idea what they want to do as a career but from another perspective, isn't having a Maths degree bad? As it is very broad and you do not specialize in anything
For example, you are trying to apply for a trainee Actuary position or Accountancy.
Wouldn't it make for sense for employers to hire people with an Actuarial degree or an Accountancy degree since it would be a lot cheaper as less money is needed to train the new employee because they have a degree that specializes in the field they are applying for

My third question is about the current and future state of Actuary.
How saturated are the entry-level positions? Since more and more people are aware of what an Actuary is, How competitive and hard is it to get a trainee position now and how hard will it be in the future? (About 5-10 years later)Will this mean the value of being an Actuary will drop? As the supply increases and the demand is too small, will oversaturation make Actuaries less respected and valuable