The Student Room Group

Studying Graphic Design but now more interested in Town/Transport planning

Hello, I was wondering if anyone on here could give me some advice. I am currently in my second year of studying a degree in Graphic Design, however over the past few months, I feel that I have lost passion in the subject and cannot see myself pursuing a career relating to that degree. My primary interest is transport and since a very young age, I have enjoyed drawing road signage designs and maps of transport networks, although I have found out that a lot of graphics careers involve areas that I have no interest in whatsoever, such as advertising and marketing. In fact, I had a major falling out with my parents last summer after they told me that I would have to diversify my design work if I wish to continue with graphics. This had a major knock on effect on my confidence over the summer and I have still not yet fully recovered from the emotional trauma.

I am considering pursuing town or transport planning as a career because I have always been passionate about how cities work and enjoy sketching up ideas for infrastructure improvements in my spare time. The thing is, I want to be able to do it without having to drop out of my current degree because even though there are areas of my course I don’t enjoy, I am on target to getting a 2:1 and do not want to have to start from the bottom again with another undergraduate degree. Going to university has also given me so much confidence from making large friendship groups and living independently, something which I never had much opportunity to do back at home because I was at special school for most of my life. I worry that if I drop out now, all of this which I worked so hard for will be gone forever.