electricr3
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 months ago
I’m in year 11 and I’m considering taking classics a level but I’ve heard it’s similar to history a level and I take history at GCSE and I don’t really enjoy it.

Anyone who currently takes classics a level please can you tell me what it’s like.
ScoutLeopard
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 10 months ago
(Original post by electricr3)
I’m in year 11 and I’m considering taking classics a level but I’ve heard it’s similar to history a level and I take history at GCSE and I don’t really enjoy it.

Anyone who currently takes classics a level please can you tell me what it’s like.
Hi! I am a year 11 student and I am going to take Latin next year so I'm going to talk from a history vs Latin perspective. I had to think about this too as I was choosing between the two subjects. From what I've heard, Latin is similar to GCSE in the way that you have translations and set texts. However, marks for stylistic features/essay questions go up.

I would talk to your teacher about what you do in A-level and decide why you don't like history. Personally, I don't like the question types and in A-level there are quite a few essays in history, whereas there are less in Latin.
Espançais
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 10 months ago
Is it classics as in ancient history a level? My friend did ancient history a level but they called it classics and yeah it was basically like normal history
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 10 months ago

If its classical civilisation then highly unlikely to be any latin.
Its a mix of literature, social history and history, but it varies between exam boards.
What you need is to find out what the exam board will be and look at the specification to see whats covered and whether it interests you.
It may not cover as much history as you think.
Until you know what it contains then you wont be able to form an opinion.
Tolgash
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 10 months ago
(Original post by Espançais)