How long an extension should I ask for? 3x MSc Politics essays 4000 words. Watch

IzzyAnne
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Last term (and the first term of my Masters degree) was a disaster for me, in terms of housing, health, relationship...and I also changed course in week 3. It'll be time to submit my first essays soon, which was scary enough as I've never written politics essays before.

I was meant to submit 3x 4000 word essays, 2 on the 16th and 1 on the 21st. I've been researching for 2/3 of them but haven't written a word yet. They were set on the 12th November (so given about 3 weeks for each) but I've had constant disruption in my life that started before then (on top of existing disability) and is still continuing (though should hopefully calm down soon).

I've been asked how long an extension I need. Obviously I don't want to run too much into Term 2 but I also don't want to make myself more sick rushing if it turns out to take a lot longer than expected.

How long do you think I'd need to comfortably get a 4000 word MSc Politics essay done? Or should I just give up /defer/ go part-time?

I was thinking extend the first deadline from 16->20th, giving me 10 days to write the first essay I've already researched a bit for (Disregarded 3 days in which I have to move house and travel to hospital)

Then the 2nd deadline from the 16th-> 3rd, giving me 2 weeks to work on an essay I've done some research for (one of which will be the first week of the new term, I have 5 hours of class and it'll likely be unit intros.

Then the 3rd deadline from 21st jan->17th of Feb? That then gives me 2 more weeks for an essay I haven't looked at yet in the thick of the new term. But that's nearly a month extension on that one, I'm not sure if it's allowed...

Any suggestions greatly welcomed.
Vexper
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago