Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I'm currently studying Electronic Engineering (about to start my 3rd year for a BEng). It's probably the most boring thing I could have done with my life, and without a doubt the most boring thing I have done in my life. Medicine was always on my mind, and now I'm sure that it's where I want to go.

I did the IB in Germany. The teachers there (all the ones I asked) all said that Physics and Chemistry was the way to go, rather than Biology + Chem. We couldn't do all 3 because it was a small school, and scheduling meant Physics and Bio were at the same time. So I did Physics and Chem at HL, got a 7 for Physics and a 5 for Chem (which I wanted remarked. The entire class got 5s. Even the kids who giggled every time 'drugs' were mentioned in the Med&Drug option. And I had 7s throughout both years, but enough about that).

So I want to get in to medicine, and so probably need to do some kind of conversion course. Here are my grades:

Current degree: On track for high 2.1. Possibly a 1.1 if I can feel motivated
    IB: 38 points. Chem [5], Phys [7], English A1 (HL), and Maths [6], German, History (SL). Did EE in History with A*.
    GCSE: Science Double Award [A]
    Very good at problem solving/diagnostics.

Any advice? KCL stopped their conversion course for 2009 entry by the looks of it. I'd love to get in on what I have right now (in London if at all possible), but without Bio, I doubt it'll happen.

I was going to do Biology at IB, but our previous teacher was a marine biologist, who kept going on about plants all day and was afraid of dissections. And I was sure to get a good grade in Physics.

ReputationRep:
    afraid of dissections but want to do medicine :-S regardless of that look at the uni sites for GEP if not Elec Eng is still very good although not the eng ill pick if i dont get into med school which i wont lol

ReputationRep:
    Barts don't require biology at the IB and are in London.