This discussion is closed.
Andrew97
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
B1547 – Life Sentence Bill 2020, Glaz MP

Life Sentence Bill 2020

An Act requiring all life sentences to be carried out fully.

BE IT ENACTED by the Queen's most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Commons, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

1: Life Sentencing.
(1) All life sentences must be fully carried out.
(2) For the purposes of this Act:—
(2) a. "fully carried out" means that the criminal may not be released from jail until they die.

2: Exemption
(1) There shall be no exemptions to this Act

4: Extent
This Act extends to the United Kingdom.

5: Commencement
The provisions of this Act come into force immediately.

6: Short Title
This Act may be cited as the Life Sentence Bill 2020.
Glaz
  • Political Ambassador
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Again, sorry about the lack of notes, I'm still new to this :hide:
SnowMiku
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(PRSOM)

I do agree with this bill, there are other ways to effectively give a life sentence, and to just have life be life makes a bunch more sense than "Life for 30 years but yay parole, you're still a bit of a douchebag but eh whatever".
04MR17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Problem with the commencement date is that would require more prison cells immediately. Those cells need to be built and that requires money, which this bill does not provide. Unless we are planning to employ the use of outdoor prisons (something I don't currently like the idea of), then it simply has to be a no.
The RAR
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I think in the exemption they may be released if their plea is successful, some criminals do change so I really don't see the point in keeping them locked up forever.
The Mogg
  • Political Ambassador
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago