Elffaw89
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 days ago
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for people's experience studying through the open university. I'm 30 years old, work full time, and I am looking to complete my BA(hons) degree I started nearly 10 years ago. I have been accepted for a credit transfer, and I need only 120 credits to complete my degree. How feasible would this be to complete, in about two years, whilst working part time. A tutor I asked from the OU suggested that a 60 credit module would take a year to compete. Has anybody finished this sooner?

Any information would be great. How have people got on with a BA(Hons) Open degree? Does it hold similar clout to a subject specific degree?

Thanks in advance
butlere
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 5 days ago
HI I'm currently studying an Open degree (started Oct 19). Do you need to complete level 3 modules?
Ive continued to work full time and done a 60 unit course (level 1) and found it very easy to complete - as long as you are mindful of deadlines and dates for forums and online tutorials. Ive never had to decline / decrease social activities and just spent several hours on a Saturday or Sunday making significant progress and some evenings doing various activiites etc. I've found it really manageable. Next year I plan to complete 120 credits within the year but perhaps go down to 4 days working so that I have an extra day to focus on studies and will complete much sooner overall.
So to answer your question. Work parttime do 120 units in 1 year. Work fulltime I recommend taking 2 years to complete. Noone needs the stress of fulltime job and fulltime study. Especially after a significant time out and if doing level 3.
I can recommend some of the free short courses on OU or recorded online tutorials, just to refresh your memory on referencing and academic writing.
-Eirlys-
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 days ago
(Original post by Elffaw89)
Hi everyone,