Which is the best place to live as a student (Oxford or Sheffield)?

Watch
Bhavesh26
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
I have got offers from Sheffield Hallam and Oxford Brookes.
Please help me with selecting one city or one university as I want to experience everything like nightclubs, city life, student life and most importantly I want to know which city’s people are helpful and peaceful as I will be an international student so it matters to me.
Cheesybread
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
In terms of city life and nightclubs Sheffield is better as you also have meadowhall, big shopping area. I don't know about the ratio of international students at Oxford Brookes but there is a lot at Hallam
Bhavesh26
Rep:
?
So should I consider Sheffield Hallam instead of Oxford brookes?
Course is ms in business management
Anonymous #1
Report 2 months ago
I'm a student at Sheffield Hallam, so I'd say Sheffield, we're a bigger place anyway with Population: 518,090 (2011) vs Oxford at Population: 154,600 (2017), so I'd expect a lot more nightlife from Sheffield especially with 2 large universities so close together the walk for Hallam to the uni of is a lot of smaller and international style shops, also we have 3 weather-spoons close to the uni and typically the overall environment of northern areas is more welcoming so people adjust to it easier as people are more open along with that if you get home sick Sheffield is relatively central so you'll be quiet close to home or if you want to travel that easier too, being 4 and a half hours from Edinburgh and 3 hours 15 from London, being central means de-stressing is a lot easier too as we have more natural beauty and open space for outdoor activities such as paint balling; hopefully this helps you we'll be in a similar field so I my even see you on campus if you chose SHU
Bhavesh26
Rep:
?
Thankyou! This helps.
Cheesybread
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by Bhavesh26)