Could I teach GCSE+ English with a degree in Media, Culture and Communication? Watch

Liz_Moo96
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi there,

I am currently training to be a teacher in the post-16 education sector. Currently, I teach ESOL but I am interested in branching out a little further. I have a degree in Media that often focussed on print text based media, including literature and much of the audio-visual analysis stems from print text analysis and much if it does overlap. Would that be sufficient then for me to teach English at either GCSE level or perhaps even A Level? The two disciplines are not terribly dissimilar and I am already training to teach English of some sort.

Many thanks in advance.
Last edited by Liz_Moo96; 1 month ago
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Liz_Moo96)
Hi there,

I am currently training to be a teacher in the post-16 education sector. Currently, I teach ESOL but I am interested in branching out a little further. I have a degree in Media that often focussed on print text based media, including literature and much of the audio-visual analysis stems from print text analysis and much if it does overlap. Would that be sufficient then for me to teach English at either GCSE level or perhaps even A Level? The two disciplines are not terribly dissimilar and I am already training to teach English of some sort.

Many thanks in advance.
Ultimately, it's up to the individual institution- some might prefer people with more traditional English degrees. However, it sounds like your degree might also help you offer additional subjects such as media and film which might appeal to some colleges.

I think it will probably be a case of applying for various jobs and finding one which is a good fit for your skill set that also offers you the chance to teach A-level English.