Is there a central register for UK universities to check degrees? Watch

nomadis
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Can UK universities check previously earned degrees from the UK for the purpose of verification etc.? I did a masters long ago, about 10 years and wouldn't like to mention it in a PhD application because I'm working on another MA and expect its results to be better than the previous one.
Catherine1973
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I thought you did have to list all exams entered into if asked (ie ucas want you to) and it would against regulations to not disclose if asked to do so.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by nomadis)
Can UK universities check previously earned degrees from the UK for the purpose of verification etc.? I did a masters long ago, about 10 years and wouldn't like to mention it in a PhD application because I'm working on another MA and expect its results to be better than the previous one.
There is no central repository, but the above poster is wrong, the application form will require you to report all previous University study/qualifications.

Maybe you should consider what your chances would be if all other applicants lied in their applications as comfortably as you seem happy to?
nomadis
Rep:
?
(Original post by Sam547)
Yes, employers and admissions staff can request to verify an award if this have reason to suspect the document you provide illegitimate. However, as far as I'm aware unless stated by the university you are applying to, you are not obliged to tell them of all of your qualifications if you don't want to. So you should be able to just submit a transcript of your current masters and they won't be searching up about previous degrees unless you present them in your application.