This discussion is closed.
London38
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
So, here's the thing... I have decided to study medicine, at the grand age of 38 (which in my eyes, is still pretty young). Am I crazy?

Now before anyone chimes in about it taking XYZ to qualify to as doctor, it costs this and the time to study will take that, here is my reasoning;

My intention to go back to school stems from a deep regret of not being overly fulfilled in life. The fact I studied the wrong degree somewhat 15 years ago only exacerbates this feeling. The 'what if' keeps banging on a metaphorical door in my brain. I often ask myself, 'in ten years’ time, would I look back and ask myself why I didn't pursue this now, would I look back and wish I had done the things I wanted to do'. In short, yes. Wouldn't you?

In the last two years, I have lost five family members through a variety of causes, some natural, and some so utterly brutal you'd wonder how I wake up in the morning. Life is for living, no regrets and yes, at 38, I full intend to throw myself into this full-throttle and ensure the next 40 years count.

So now, I will undertake the Access to Medicine diploma in college before progressing to medical school. I'm male, married to a wonderful man, a mortgage, a dog (no children, yet) with a career in a traditional marketing/sales role. I'm not rich, but I'm not poor. It will be a big stretch but what it will give me is the ability to recalibrate what is important in life, to do a rewarding yet challenging job that makes a huge difference. But ultimately to help and give something back, albeit in a small way.

Why am I posting this? Well, how many of us are out there, what are your experiences as a mature medical student, and did you study the diploma?

Did you struggle with the diploma?
How did you find being the 'mature' student?
The entry exams to med school seem a little terrifying (UKAT, for example) - what is your experience with this?