The Student Room Group

a level combinations for natural sciences

I am currently studying chem, maths, and philosophy at a-level and am predicted A*s in all. I am really interested in physical NatSci at Cambridge but wondered how much not having a third science would affect my chances and performance in the entry exam. (I got 9s in my gcse sciences). Should I pursue this or look at chemistry elsewhere?
Reply 1
Definitely check college websites as they may have their own subject requirements.
You will have trouble in the NSAA exam because it's split into maths (which everyone has to do), then you pick two out of physics, chemistry, biology and advanced maths & physics. That's in the multiple choice section; for the second section you'd be fine, you could just do both chemistry questions.
It would probably be easier for you to learn the necessary physics and maths for the advanced maths & physics questions rather than learn A-level biology from scratch.
Original post by Sinnoh
Definitely check college websites as they may have their own subject requirements.
You will have trouble in the NSAA exam because it's split into maths (which everyone has to do), then you pick two out of physics, chemistry, biology and advanced maths & physics. That's in the multiple choice section; for the second section you'd be fine, you could just do both chemistry questions.
It would probably be easier for you to learn the necessary physics and maths for the advanced maths & physics questions rather than learn A-level biology from scratch.

Thank you for the reply! I have looked at the spec and the physics aspect doesn't seem much harder than gcse. Do you know if it goes much beyond gcse?
Reply 3
Original post by iamnotkathbut
Thank you for the reply! I have looked at the spec and the physics aspect doesn't seem much harder than gcse. Do you know if it goes much beyond gcse?