Am i being rejected because of the Uni i went to; should i do a Masters? Watch

Silver Arrow
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I'm hoping to get some advice from people on here. I graduated in 2017 from a middling uni with a degree in Economics. I passed with a high 2:1 and went to work in the Civil Service as an Economist. My contract there came to an end in November 2019 and I have since been applying for jobs in the same field, but with no luck or success.

I apply through LinkedIn mostly but also through traditional means. I have attended a few interviews but i haven't been successful and i'm starting to suspect it may be to do with the Uni i went to. Virtually everyone i worked with went to the Russell Group universities and the few that didn't topped their degrees up with Masters. I'm not sure i'd like to pursue Economics as a career but i think that a degree from a RG university will help. Trawling through LinkedIn, i can see that most of the people who hold the best spots attended those unis. I'm lucky that i live in a town with one of the top unis and my parents will allow me to stay home and pursue a Masters if i wanted to.

So is it worth it to do one, and will it help me stand out to employers?
Tredoltle
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Please could you specify which university you went to? It'll help a bit more in forming an opinion on whether it actually is to do with the university or not..!
Joinedup
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I'd suspect it's more likely you're not making enough of your 2 years experience in the civil service in your CV, interviewing poorly or you're going for the wrong sort of job
ajj2000
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Well - if you are getting interviews you are seen as a good enough candidate, so its not your university or your CV. At this stage I would apply for more jobs and work on interview skills.
Silver Arrow
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Joinedup)