The Student Room Group
Graduate, University of Stirling
University of Stirling

Anyone studying history/environmental geography with education at Stirling?

What is the course like?
Would you recommend it?
I studied geography with education for my first year and half my second year. Ive just returned to uni for my second semester of second year and have decided to change to Sociology.

If you’re 100% sure you want to be a teacher - definitely go for an education course. In my short time doing it I found the lectures and seminars so helpful and there’s so much help and opportunities on offer. You get a placement every year which helps massively as you really learn how to teach by experience. Microteaching in particular (completed in semester 1 of second year) is so so helpful as you get a class of around 10 1st year students and teach them a 20 minute lesson. It’s very relaxed and actually quite fun. However, keep in mind that the education courses are very very strict about attendance due to minimum amount of hours required to be qualified. Lectures in second year are compulsory and a register is taken.

The geography side was the reason I changed courses. I hated my geography modules so much as they’re extremely science based opposed to human based how it is in school. If you’re into geology, soils, farming etc you’ll enjoy it but if you prefer topics like population then you may struggle. None of what you learn in the modules is particularly similar to anything learnt or taught in schools.