The Student Room Group

Foundation year in medicine with a BTEC applied science level 3 and an alevel in chem

Im a student in year 12 studying BTEC extended national diploma level 3 in applied science and i do an A-level in Chemistry. I have an interest in medicine and i was wondering whether universities,like king's college, accept BTEC students who do an A-level in chemistry. If there are universities that do accept,which ones?
thanks
Reply 1
Original post by H__Ally
Im a student in year 12 studying BTEC extended national diploma level 3 in applied science and i do an A-level in Chemistry. I have an interest in medicine and i was wondering whether universities,like king's college, accept BTEC students who do an A-level in chemistry. If there are universities that do accept,which ones?
thanks

A few med schools will accept a BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma for standard entry but many need it in addition to 1 or 2 A levels. Those who openly state it is acceptable are
Aston
BSMS (plus chem and bio A levels)
Bristol (plus chem A level)
Exeter (plus chem and bio A levels)
Possibly Lancaster, but not accepted on its own
Leicester (plus chem and bio/science A levels)
Oxford (requirements for an applicant taking BTEC qualifications would typically be:
BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Applied Science
BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Applied Science plus 1 A-level
BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate or Foundation Diploma in Applied Science plus 2 A-levels (one of which must be in Chemistry, Biology, Physics or Mathematics)
Applicants will be required to achieve grades of D*DD or the equivalent)
Plymouth (but applicants required to sit the GAMSAT)
Southampton (plus chem and bio A levels)