LXXV
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hello, I am a GCSE student and I don't really understand the difference between structure and form. Although I know that form(in poetry) is the type of poem for example a sonnet. But would you consider things like Line lengths, Stanzas, Rhythm, Pace a structural device or form?
Thanks in advance.
FrancescaC2000
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by maths_is_life)
Hello, I am a GCSE student and I don't really understand the difference between structure and form. Although I know that form(in poetry) is the type of poem for example a sonnet. But would you consider things like Line lengths, Stanzas, Rhythm, Pace a structural device or form?
Thanks in advance.
Form is the "type" of text itself and how it appears in different types of literature - style of writing, genre, narrative PERSPECTIVE (linked to style) etc - these indicate the writer's intentions
Structure is the framework of a text including the sequence of events and how they are told - foreshadowing, repetition, narrative ARC etc

In terms of your poetry part of the question, It massively overlaps so I feel like you could make it either - RHYME SCHEME: - follows a set sonnet-like rhyme scheme to emphasise the unfaltering love = FORM / rhyme scheme falters half way to reflect the love faltering = STRUCTURE. It is a tricky one this and always threw me off
Tolgarda
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by FrancescaC2000)
It is a tricky one this and always threw me off
The distinction definitely becomes clearer at A Level.

As for maths_is_life's question, stanzas definitely pertain to the form of poetry, and I'd argue that rhythm does too. It's definitely something I'd expect to see in verse, not prose. However, line lengths and pace are structural features as they are not limited to the form that the piece of literature is written in.
Last edited by Tolgarda; 3 weeks ago
FrancescaC2000
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago