swanlaw
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
At what point does it become too late to seek a career in commercial law?

I am 25 years old and currently working in a personal injury law firm but feel like I’m limited with my opportunities. I studied law as an undergraduate and went on to complete the LLM version of the LPC.

I never studied commercial modules at either level, does that mean a commercial firm would automatically rule me out as a potential trainee?

I’d be interested to hear anyone’s thoughts on this, all advice welcome.
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by swanlaw)
At what point does it become too late to seek a career in commercial law?

I am 25 years old and currently working in a personal injury law firm but feel like I’m limited with my opportunities. I studied law as an undergraduate and went on to complete the LLM version of the LPC.

I never studied commercial modules at either level, does that mean a commercial firm would automatically rule me out as a potential trainee?

I’d be interested to hear anyone’s thoughts on this, all advice welcome.
As a qualified, trainee or para?
You didnt do any commercial modules? Not even corporate?
What sort of commercial experience have you had?
swanlaw
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
(Original post by 999tigger)
As a qualified, trainee or para?
You didnt do any commercial modules? Not even corporate?
What sort of commercial experience have you had?
Hi 999tiger,

I am a paralegal at the moment. The firm does support people to complete CILEx and to qualify that way, it is something that has been on my mind.