PhD Interview in Immunology - Asked to review a paper, help!

Watch
Hogthoughts
Badges: 9
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I was invited to a few PhD interviews, 2 have asked me to review a paper and I am particularly nervous about this aspect of the interview. I am just wondering how I could possibly do well on being asked on questions about their work which they are experts in?
I could really do with some tips and advice and for anyone who has been asked to review a paper what questions d they tend to ask regarding the paper?
I am assuming it cannot be too technical as I am an undergraduate and they're the experts, but again they've asked me to do a critical review on the paper so it could go either way.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Hogthoughts)
I was invited to a few PhD interviews, 2 have asked me to review a paper and I am particularly nervous about this aspect of the interview. I am just wondering how I could possibly do well on being asked on questions about their work which they are experts in?
I could really do with some tips and advice and for anyone who has been asked to review a paper what questions d they tend to ask regarding the paper?
I am assuming it cannot be too technical as I am an undergraduate and they're the experts, but again they've asked me to do a critical review on the paper so it could go either way.
They aren't asking you to refute the results, they are asking you to look at the pro's and cons of how the author went about the piece of work. So things like

Have they shown why the research was worthwhile to do?
Have they justified their methods?
What alternative methods could they have used and what would be the benefits?