Working in tech after MSc Computing + ICAEW ACA

Watch
RoundaboutRider
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
Good afternoon all

What are the career prospects of working in tech after a postgraduate MSc in Computing at Open Uni? I’m a chartered accountant (ICAEW ACA) qualified for nearly 10 years after graduating from Warwick before then.

I was wondering what kind of roles I could get into in tech? I was aiming for some form of project management rather than pure coding but I’m open to ideas.

Any thoughts?
ajj2000
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by RoundaboutRider)
Good afternoon all

What are the career prospects of working in tech after a postgraduate MSc in Computing at Open Uni? I’m a chartered accountant (ICAEW ACA) qualified for nearly 10 years after graduating from Warwick before then.

I was wondering what kind of roles I could get into in tech? I was aiming for some form of project management rather than pure coding but I’m open to ideas.

Any thoughts?
What sort of work have you done for the past few years? There is a huge amount of work in ERP projects at the moment which could suit?
RoundaboutRider
Rep:
?
(Original post by ajj2000)
What sort of work have you done for the past few years? There is a huge amount of work in ERP projects at the moment which could suit?
Right now my role is split between financial reporting for a FTSE250 company (at Group level) and actually implementing a new ERP for the corporate office. I was thinking an MSc in Computing might help tilt my career more towards tech rather than pure financial reporting which I find terribly dull (well, it’s been 13 years since graduation!).
ajj2000
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by RoundaboutRider)