How common are forensic science job opportunities?

Watch
Niakins
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello!

I am currently a 3rd year undergraduate psychology student. I have no idea what I want to do in the future, but the crime and forensic sciences course at UCL really interests me. However, I am worried that if I decide to become a forensic scientist, there will not be enough job opportunities? Or if there are any, they might be too competitive and I will struggle to get a job I like?

I am more interested in the crime scene investigation aspect of this specifically and little bit in the DNA analysis/biological part of this instead of the chemistry aspect like toxicology or things like anthropology/geoscience.

Also this is a different question but would a forensic psychology MSc even be worth it? I have seen people in this forum say that it would be better to get a science degree instead since that will give you an advantage when applying for a forensic job, however the reason why I want to do a forensic science MSc is because:

1) I am doing a psychology undergraduate degree so I probably will not be accepted into most biology courses since I don't have a bachelor in science.

2) Like I said I am mostly interested in investigating a crime scene and collecting evidence or forensic biology specifically, and if I study a general science or biology master's degree then I will have to learn about other sciencey things that I do not care about.

I have considered becoming a forensic psychologist instead but there is the same problem with there being limited job opportunities, and forensic psychology focuses more on prisons and preventing people from re-offending. I am however more interested in investigating who the criminal was and the evidence, as well as trying to figure out why they committed the crime.
sherlocked12
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago