PhD in Primary Care/Population Healrh/Medical Informatics Watch

RD48
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi !

I had applied to two universities for the January funding deadline and didn’t make it for primary care and population health interviews for PhD.

I am an overseas student, currently in the United States. I was thinking if it makes sense to apply contact potential supervisors in February for PhDs starting in October 2020. Am I late ?
I know that main Oxbridge funding deadlines have passed.

Is there still some hope to receive an offer at this point if I apply ? I am fine with partial funding as well. Not very particular about funding.
I am interested in applying to University College London and University of Edinburgh.

Are there any popular scholarships that would still be open ?

Any insights or suggestions would be really helpful.

Thanks.
mnot
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by RD48)
Hi !

I had applied to two universities for the January funding deadline and didn’t make it for primary care and population health interviews for PhD.

I am an overseas student, currently in the United States. I was thinking if it makes sense to apply contact potential supervisors in February for PhDs starting in October 2020. Am I late ?

Is there still some hope to receive an offer at this point if I apply ? I am fine with partial funding as well. Not very particular about funding.
I am interested in applying to University College London and University of Edinburgh.

Thanks.
Yes you are already late for October 2020, but yes I would still contact supervisors. If you dont do this you'll get no where.

If you only need partial funding mention this in the email as this makes it significantly easier to get onto a program depending exactly how much you mean by partial funding...

The best scholarships are the ones the supervisor recommends as it is a familiar path for them, and one you can be confident is common for your field.
JamesManc