AlexPTA
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
Hey all,

I know this should be a very personalised debate regarding my electives, however, I do not know whatsoever what sort of law I want to practice in the future. I'm studying at Lincoln University and currently love Contract Law and Tort Law. I'm really excited for Criminal Law next year but am debating between my electives.

I'm currently considering: Police Powers, Medical Law and Intellectual Property Law. I can only choose one as I am choosing my only other elective to be Company law.

I'm generally just looking for advice on electives or experiences people have had in the electives mentioned above.

Any help would be greatly appreciated - Thank you!
harrysbar
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
MidgetFever
MidgetFever
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
Thanks for the tag Harrys!

Unfortunately I'm quite a while away from taking my LPC yet, so I can't give you any first hand experience of any of the electives.

I'd probably tackle this in a common sense manner though, if this were me. Choose electives that you would enjoy, but as you're learning the practical aspects of that elective, make sure they represent the areas you genuinely want to be practicing in.

So for example if you wish to practice in a commercial and company setting, it makes little sense to me to take an elective on police powers, as it will only be relevant to a certain extent. (Unless you were perhaps edging towards Corporate crime). If I were to choose one of the three, I'd probably choose intellectual property as it ties in more closely with that area.

Though at the end of the day, that's a choice personal to me, as this should be for you. I hope someone will be able to give you a more informed response though.
Last edited by MidgetFever; 11 months ago
harrysbar
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
(Original post by MidgetFever)
Thanks for the tag Harrys!