Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Got an email saying i plagiarised but I don’t remember plagiarising. What’s gonna happen now omg? Should I be scared? I’m in university, second year and this is my first time.
mnot
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Got an email saying i plagiarised but I don’t remember plagiarising. What’s gonna happen now omg? Should I be scared? I’m in university, second year and this is my first time.
Find the submission they are on about.

Check if they are just investigating or if you have to meet with an academic conduct panel.

If you did not plagiarise but got a high turn-it-in score then you can bring the submission show it is fully & correctly cited and it will be no problem.
gjd800
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Depends on the severity of the case. For first instance minor academic misconduct, a university will usually require attendance of a course or completion of an online training thing (sometimes both).
Anonymous #1
(Original post by mnot)
Find the submission they are on about.

Check if they are just investigating or if you have to meet with an academic conduct panel.

If you did not plagiarise but got a high turn-it-in score then you can bring the submission show it is fully & correctly cited and it will be no problem.
They said they don’t worry about the turnitin percentage but my tutor sent me an email of my assignment and a letter talking about the misconducts. Is the letter going to get sent him btw?
gjd800
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
They said they don’t worry about the turnitin percentage but my tutor sent me an email of my assignment and a letter talking about the misconducts. Is the letter going to get sent him btw?
The reason they say not to worry about the percentage is because sometimes a fully referenced paper can show up at 30%. It won't usually be a very good paper, but it will be sufficiently referenced. Higher than that is usually a red flag, in my experience.