Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I currently study computer science and I am in my second year. My first year of uni was a success and I loved it, however second year hasn't been the same. With the increase in workload and the lessened social life I have been struggling to enjoy my time at uni. I chose to study CS because it was something new to me and I wanted a change however I am now regretting it. My grades are above average and I am doing okay in the course, I also have a well paid internship this summer at a bank. I feel like this summer will be a make or break for me, If I don't enjoy the practical side of my course as well as the educational side then whats the point besides money?

I have a few friends who study physics and I am very interested in astronomy myself, I was close to changing course at the end of first year but I stuck with CS in the end. If I don't enjoy the summer then I'm considering taking a year out of uni and going back to do physics somewhere else, I feel like I would actually enjoy the content. (Currently I never come out of lectures feeling excited about what I'm learning).

I'm currently on a 4 year course too so I don't know how this will effect my future funding from student finance?

Does anyone feel the same/has anyone been through this before and done a similar thing? It feels like a massive waste of 2 years but I don't want to spend my life doing something I don't enjoy. I'd also be going back to uni as a fresher at 22 years of age. I'm curious if anyone has made a decision similar to this before and if it went well?

Thanks in advance!
mnot
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Anonymous)