Council tax help needed? Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
My first thread on this issue . I'm a full time student but the camden council sent me a summons of 612 pounds for non payment of council tax.

https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/sho...4#post87167994

So I tried to contact them but no avail. They say everything which deals with council tax exemptions is done online.
On their website, it says that students have to first register for council tax then send exemptions.

That's where my problem lies. If I register for council tax, then at the end of the registration process, it asks me to decide payment arrangements. Like how many instalments I have to pay.

If I do this, will I become liable for tax payment? How do I submit the exemption form when I'm already registered for council tax?
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
My first thread on this issue . I'm a full time student but the camden council sent me a summons of 612 pounds for non payment of council tax.

https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/sho...4#post87167994

So I tried to contact them but no avail. They say everything which deals with council tax exemptions is done online.
On their website, it says that students have to first register for council tax then send exemptions.

That's where my problem lies. If I register for council tax, then at the end of the registration process, it asks me to decide payment arrangements. Like how many instalments I have to pay.

If I do this, will I become liable for tax payment? How do I submit the exemption form when I'm already registered for council tax?
Cant you either ring them and explain the problem or visit their offices and explain?
If they wont speak to you then email or write a letter.
Anonymous #1
(Original post by 999tigger)
Cant you either ring them and explain the problem or visit their offices and explain?
If they wont speak to you then email or write a letter.