Vicloulev
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I have been working in ey for 14 years have a level 3 in childhood development and level 3 in teaching assistant. I work in ey in a sen school and am acting as a unqualified teacher for the year. I'm not young have gcse in english and maths but not science. Is there any online courses i could do to further my career into teaching qualified?
04MR17
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Vicloulev)
I have been working in ey for 14 years have a level 3 in childhood development and level 3 in teaching assistant. I work in ey in a sen school and am acting as a unqualified teacher for the year. I'm not young have gcse in english and maths but not science. Is there any online courses i could do to further my career into teaching qualified?
This is a great question and I'm not sure I have the answer. I'll tag Get into Teaching who may be able to help more.
Get into Teaching
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Vicloulev)
Thanks for the tag @04MR17

Hello Vicloulev

You have such a wide wealth of experience, which will support an application for teacher training. To become a recognised teacher in EY or in Primary, you'd need to complete a course that would award EYTS (Early Years Teacher Status) or QTS (Qualified Teacher Status) The entry requirements for a course that awards EYTS/QTS for are Eng, Maths and Science GCSEs. I would encourage you to speak with your headteacher and see if they could enter you as a private candidate in any of the schools they may have links to. If this is not an option, (you feel like you'd need to attend classes) then consult with your local college. Courses for GCSE begin in Sept. Have a look at the GCSE bitesize revision and quizes/tests to judge how much support you may need to decide which option you do. There are online courses, but Science GCSEs often involve experimentation and exploration as coursework, which require a lab!