Anonymous1502
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
For me the worst novel I have read so far is called a long long way by Sebastian Barry which I am studying for a level English lit. Not a massive fan of the picture of Dorian Gray either I find the characters annoying especially Lord Henry.
SusannaW
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Anonymous1502)
For me the worst novel I have read so far is called a long long way by Sebastian Barry which I am studying for a level English lit. Not a massive fan of the picture of Dorian Gray either I find the characters annoying especially Lord Henry.
For me it was the book thief. It’s won a few awards and so I expected it to be good but I couldn’t even finish it!
MidgetFever
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by SusannaW)
For me it was the book thief. It’s won a few awards and so I expected it to be good but I couldn’t even finish it!
Aw that makes me sad, it's genuinely one of my favourite books. Fantastically written.
CoolCavy
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Tess of the D'ubervilles
Had to read it for GCSE and it's just painful, Hardy takes an entire page just to describe a bed sheet at one point
CTLeafez
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
*DISCLAIMER* In no way is this book terrible in the sense of being badly written, I just struggled to comprehend what was going on due to the old fashion English used. *DISCLAIMER*

I found Great Expectations quite difficult to comprehend what was going on from chapter to chapter. I'd read a chapter then have to read a summary on SparkNotes to truly understand what had happened. Dicken's language in the books, alongside using nouns which aren't used nowadays really confused me :P
Anonymous1502
Rep:
?
(Original post by CTLeafez)
*DISCLAIMER* In no way is this book terrible in the sense of being badly written, I just struggled to comprehend what was going on due to the old fashion English used. *DISCLAIMER*