Should i study Anthropology at the University of Manchester?

Watch
Thatvampirediana
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am currently doing a foundation year in Biomedical Science at UOM but I am starting to realise how much i dislike biology. Anthropology has bee suggested to me but I do not know much about it. Can anyone describe job prospects, postgrad options and what the course is like?
heyitsmika
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hey I'm studying Anthropology and I'm only in my first year, but since no one else has responded so far, maybe it will help you a little anyway.

So Anthropology is basically the study of human cultures - and I find it really interesting. So for example, last semester we talked about cannibalism among Amazonian societies (for example the Wari', who ate their dead as a sign of respect and grief), we talked about kinship and how certain cultures perceive kinship based on land ownership rather than genetics. We also learned about the Egyptian revolution in 2011, and marriage trends among British Pakistanis.
Later on, you will usually learn how to conduct your own research (so the different ethnographic methods) and all that jazz, but I can't really tell you about that unfortunately.

Anthropology is extremely different from Biomedical Sciences and I think it's a little random that people suggested it, but if you enjoy learning about different cultures, and even experiencing your own culture through different perspectives, it might be the right course for you.

Because I am only in first year I can't really help you much with graduate prospects and job opportunities, but I can tell you what my personal tutors and my lecturers told me.