fiixnaa
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi, I’m a Year 12 student considering doing medicine at uni and I’m doing Biology, Chemistry and Psychology at A-Level and I’m worrying whether I’ll actually meet the requirements and what my alternative options would be for the subjects I’m studying.

For some background, my GCSE grades were between Grade 8-9 with 8s in Biology, Chemistry and Maths and a B in Further Maths.

At A-Level, I’ve realised that it’s a completely different ballgame than GCSE and as a result, my grades are completely different from what I’m used to. My college does assessments every term for all three subjects and we’re on our 4th set of assessments. Throughout these assessments my grades have been B (1 mark from A), C, B in chemistry, B, C, C (originally a D but I retook it) in biology and A*, A, B in psychology. I’m struggling with finding a proper revision technique which I’m trying to fix (what I did at GCSE clearly isn’t working) but these grades have made me question what I should do in the event that I don’t get AAA at the end of Year 13.

What other courses would be good alternative options for medicine with the A-Levels I’m studying? I’m considering biomedicine, but aside from that I’m not too sure.

(sorry for the waffle)
fairytopia
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
i believe that most medicine programs prefer applicants with math at A-level. it probably varies among unis, but you should check to see if the ones you're thinking of applying to require math.

as for alternate subjects, biomedicine is similar to medicine, but that might mean that the grade requirements are also going to be quite high. have you considered maybe just straight biology, or psychology (as you seem to be doing best in that course)?