The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

UCL 2020 Accomodation Thread

Seems there's a thread like this each year so I thought I'd set one up for offer-holders this year.

With the accommodation applications being open from March, what are your thoughts and preferences on student accommodation?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hey!
To be honest accommodation is the scariest thing for me about going to UCL. Being an international student, I'll be all alone in London (basically all alone in the UK) and since UCL does not let you state a preference for a particular hall, I'm really worried about being allocated to one that's not so close to the campus or is in a bad condition. I saw many halls that I am really fond of, especially the ones that are close to Bloomsbury. I am planning to stay in a single room and most probably a self-catered one.
What are your preferences, and how do you feel about UCL's room allocation strategy? Also what are you planning to study, if you don't mind me asking?
University College London, University of London
University College London
London
Reply 2
Hey guys can someone go through how we apply for accommodation? I literally have no idea when or how its done
Reply 3
Original post by gothai7
Hey guys can someone go through how we apply for accommodation? I literally have no idea when or how its done

You are guaranteed an accommodation if you choose UCL as your firm choice and submit your application by May 31st, also they only guarantee accommodation for the first year if you have not previously lived in London whilst studying at a university.

We'll have to state some preferences regarding the accommodation, such as catered or self-catered, ensuite or shared bathroom, single or twin room, and the cost. You can't state a preference for a particular hall tho, they use an automated allocation system to give you a room.