The Student Room Group

What is the attitude of UK students towards international students?

I am wondering if international students usually 'have it worse' than others at UK universities when it comes to social experience - is it common that UK students reject internationals or that there are divisions and internationals form their own friend circles? Does it annoy UK students that people have different accents etc. or are they rather understanding?
I wanna know this as well.
as a UK student I don't really know but to be honest I would befriend international students at uni (if I hopefully get in this year) :smile::heart:
adds to the mix and diversity at uni so generally very welcome in comparison to reception in other countries, the UK is very welcoming and comfortable especially in large cities, though often like to mingle with their own groups which is fair enough, but generally seen as closed off with people from some countries, and the perception of increasing international students to boost college incomes with their insane levels of fees being a cash cow to sustain themselves.

Generally very positive imo :smile:
(edited 4 years ago)
UK uni students are likely born after 1996 so they are waaaaaaay less racist than say their parents/grandparents. You dont really get many prejudice people under 30 these days, as a black guy myself I actually have faith that in the UK racism will actually die out eventually, in the US however it would never happen.
Reply 5
no definitely not. being an international student is exciting(!); you're on a grand adventure, experiencing a completely different country/culture. pretty sure about 20 percent of my undergrad was international, so it's not like if you are an international student you are anywhere near alone or special.