Khan1khan
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
I am currently studying for my IGCSEs and at the beginning of my IGCSEs my teachers had allowed my to drop my only science subject (biology) now i’m struggling with choosing my IB. I don’t want to do A-levels and i also don’t want an IB certificate and i want to get an full IB Diploma. Is it possible for me to choose an science now even though i have not taken one in my IGCSEs
heyitsmika
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
If your school doesn't hold certain prerequisites for IB bio, I definitely think it's possible. I did bio HL and I also had bio in my IGCSEs, but I never did any work for it, like zero. So basically I started by IB bio with the same amount of knowledge that you're probably gonna have
I feel like bio is just about learning things by heart anyway - there's nothing you really have to understand. If you're good at learning things by heart, you definitely won't struggle with bio.
molloy150
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
i do bio and chem HL and i think that bio would be okay without prior knowledge, you would just need to put in a bit more work than other people and it’s a similar thing with chemistry, but i think that would be much harder and i wouldn’t recommend doing it without chemistry IGCSE unless you really need it. however, if you do need it, i’m sure it would be possible to do well in it but it might be worth looking at tuition or speaking to teachers about work you can do to prepare for it, good luck!
Khan1khan
Rep:
?
(Original post by molloy150)