is this workout plan ok to build muscle - need urgent advice!

Watch
jonjo4321
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,

I am basically a beginner to the gym and am looking to build muscle (I am quite lanky and skinny), so this is my primary goal (male). I have been doing gym inconsistently for the past 2 months but am not looking to do it a lot more seriously. I created this workout plan using mainly dumbbells because that is what I am confident using. what are your thoughts of this workout plan, is it good enough to build a lot of muscle?

Every gym session, I will choose 3 from each category, and always do both shoulder exercises (so 7/8 exercises per workout). Reps and sets - will mainly be either 3 x 8, 4 x 8. I will aim to do this 4 times per week. (Also after each workout I will do this 5 minute chest workout that I found on YT which is basically a variety of pushups).

On the next day, I will go for the next "three" exercises, one down. and so on in a cycle. E.g. day 1 may include dumbbell flat chest press, inclined chest press and dumbbells flys, then in day 2 it will include inclined chest press, chest flys and dips.

Chest:
• Dumbbell flat chest press – 3 x 8
• Dumbbell inclined chest press – 3 x 8
• Chest flys 30 degree inclined – 3 x 8
• Dips – 3 x 10
Arms:
• Tricep push downs 3 x 8
• Standard bicep curls 3 x 8
• Inclined bicep curls 3 x 8
• Skull crushers 3 x 8
• Dumbell hammer curls
• Dumbbell cross body curls
Shoulders:
• Shoulder press 3 x 8
• Lat pull downs 3 x 8

My diet is good and I monitor it a lot. i'm just not sure if these purely dumbbell based exercises are ok to build a lot of muscle. I am really motivataed and willing to put in the time.