sharrison1
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,

I am currently a post grad chemist and have been working as a finance assistant for the past 2 years. I am studying towards my CIMA qualification, however I have only managed to take 1 exam in the year. I struggle to manage work life and exams and am usually too tired at the end of the day to revise (I have been diagnosed with ME a couple of years ago).

I have saved up quite a lot in the past two years, so I was debating whether to take a year out to focus on my exams or continue to revise at this slow rate whilst working. I know the exams are only going to get harder and harder and with no exceptions I have a to complete the basic certificate (4 more exams) and the full professional certificate (12 exams).

I was just wondering if some senior accountants/ FC’s (employers) can give me advise on this, I have heard both sides my colleague for pro and recruiters as for not to take a year off (though I understand they may be biased). Any help or advise on the matter as I am stressing out so much of this decision.

Many thanks,

Suzy
ajj2000
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hi Suzy - happy to help. I’m not very up to speed on CIMA exams as it’s been a few years since I had staff studying for that qualification.

Could you give me an idea of your current level at work - so what your main tasks and responsibilities are, size of company and software you use?
ajj2000
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Also - when you say ‘post grad chemist’ do you mean someone currently studying post grad qualifications or someone with, say, a masters in chemistry?
sharrison1
Rep:
?
(Original post by ajj2000)
Also - when you say ‘post grad chemist’ do you mean someone currently studying post grad qualifications or someone with, say, a masters in chemistry?
I just mean to say I have a BSc in Chemistry from university.
ajj2000
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by sharrison1)