Double Bereavement - Looking for advice

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I'm a Year 12 student, and this year I lost both of my parents to cancer. I don't even know if I really believe it yet, it just feels like some stupid joke, both funerals are done but I really don't know what to do. It's been really hard to cope with it all, I'm really struggling to motivate myself to actually keep doing anything and I miss them so much. I'm struggling to talk to any of my friends about it because they're trying to help but really don't know what to say and I'm just getting more upset because of it and I really hate how I'm feeling.
I don't really know what I hope to accomplish with this but I was kind of hoping to hear from someone else who has been through something similar and if anyone has any advice for coping?
LeapingLucy
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I'm really sorry for your losses. Are you in contact with the charity Winston's Wish? They provide so much support for young people in your position.

https://www.winstonswish.org/about-us/
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Thank you, I have started getting in touch with them but I guess it's still too early on because not much has happened yet.
Surnia
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I'm so sorry for this. Do you have any (extended) family or a trusted adult that you can talk with or can help you with practical things like sorting bills and bank accounts? Unfortunately, these are aspects that need to be addressed fairly soon. Personally, deal with your grief how you want to deal with it. It will come and go, and there's no timescale on when you should start to feel better. If you are studying, are you getting support from teachers or a student counseller? Do the hospital or hospice that provided care have a bereavement suppory service or can they recommend anone?

There's more advice on here:
https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/sho....php?t=3562145
Anonymous #2
Report 4 weeks ago