Your experience in the food and drinks industry as a chemical engineer

Watch
21allthebestx
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
I would like to ask for opinions on whether or not if you found a chemical engineering degree worth it compared to the job you have/situation you're in right now.

I will start chemical engineering in 2021 if the masters+industry placement degree is still convincing enough, after that I will most likely be working in the food and drink industry. Which I am not entirely sure if that is a waste of my chem eng because it does not sound like high paid sector (especially if I am a fresh graduate). From my research, there are actually quite a lot of negative thoughts especially about the degree having a lower employing rate and salary every year, despite being one of the most challenging courses?

My a-levels are phy, chem and maths. In terms of uni courses, I think I am very limited to natural sciences and engineering. But I am having a crisis right now because I have been reading threads that repeats chem eng is not worth it and I always change my mind. I don't exactly know what I want to do in my life but I need to have a stable, well paid job.

Is chemical engineering the best degree if I want to get into the food and drinks industry (processing aspect which is still engineering eek) or related careers. Are people finding a hard time geting a job after their degree, I just can't trust stats on DiscoverUni. I apologise if this the most dizzy you have been after reading a post on TSR.

Afterall, what other routes can I try to go for? Your help will be very appreciated.
21allthebestx
Rep:
?
and how would you compare a university graduate with a apprentice graduate
trapking
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
Ade9000 will be able to answer the question wrt the food and drink industry.