The Student Room Group

Scotland NHS STP 2020

I wanted to start this thread for anyone who is planning to apply for Scottish STP this spring, as there doesn't seem to be one, and so we can share our experiences and just talk about it :smile: I have noticed Cardiac Science opened, I'm personally waiting for Reproductive Science and Microbiology. I applied for repro to the English STP and was unsuccessful, so thought I will give it a try here.

I have 7 years NHS experience as a healthcare assistant in the emergency settings, I am graduating with first class honours in Biomedical science this June, I have undertaken online courses to broaden my knowledge in both fields, shadowed embryologists in the clinic and my final year project is in microbiology with molecular approach.

Has anyone applied for STP Scotland before? Any tips? Also who is applying this year and what are your feelings? Anyone who also applied to English and was unsuccessful? Let's start this thread :biggrin::smile:
(edited 4 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Hey Agonda,

I've applied for the English STP, (Cancer Genomics & Genomics), but was unsuccessful. Do you know where all the Scottish postings are? I.E. How do we check when the vacancies are listed?
I have a 2:2 in Virology and a Masters degree in Drug Design and Biomedical Science plus 4 years experience within the biopharmaceutical industry. Have previously applied to the programme but had no chance as they wouldn’t accept me without a 1st or 2:1. Was looking at the admissions criteria for this year - it seems like that might have changed? After being rejected I moved on to get more experience but seems like I haven’t quite abandoned the hopes of working for the NHS yet!