The Student Room Group

Is studying a masters in Data Science worth it

Hi Everyone,

I'm currently studying BSc Computer Science in my 3rd year, and I'm wondering if I should do a Masters Degree in Data Science or not...I want to get a career in the Data Science field. I've been on an internship for 2 years where I am a Data Analyst, am I better off learning more skills on my own and working my way up in the company or will having a Masters degree make me more employable and equip better for a good job?

Any advice and help would be hugely appreciated!

Thanks
(edited 4 years ago)
tbf I have the same situation. I graduated from BSc computer science and now applying for MSc Data Science. I have researched the job market in London, if you want to get into top-tier company / high pay the minimum qualification is a master degree. For a research position, they will require a PhD minimum.

There are the number of jobs still required bachelors as a minimum qualification but if you want to have more choices on employment + high pay, Master degree probably a good answer for you.
Reply 2
Original post by Helloworld012
tbf I have the same situation. I graduated from BSc computer science and now applying for MSc Data Science. I have researched the job market in London, if you want to get into top-tier company / high pay the minimum qualification is a master degree. For a research position, they will require a PhD minimum.

There are the number of jobs still required bachelors as a minimum qualification but if you want to have more choices on employment + high pay, Master degree probably a good answer for you.

Thanks for your reply, yeah I've been hearing the same thing in regards to having a masters degree opening up more choices for employment. I'm wondering if you have e.g. 3 years experience within the data field, would a masters boost your employment choices more or would the experience be enough...