I have a PhD History, MA in Medical Law, LLB in Law. My career prospects?

Watch
JuliusCaesar89
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I am a PhD in History with a MA in Medical Law and LLB in Law (I will submit my PhD thesis in August). Though I have multiple degrees, I am very worried about my job prospects after PhD. Work experience is not really on my side as I have never had a full time paid job- I do have short term research and teaching positions.

Lecturing jobs and postdocs in History are so rare, so a career in academia just seems like an impossibility for now.

I am interested in teaching in secondary schools, but I don't want to do a year of PGCE (high tuition and low bursary) or the Researchers in School programme (also high tuition and a low bursary of £9000 for history teachers). Ideally, I will like to start earning at least £27000 from August 2020 when I submit my PhD

I have just discovered the Civil Service Fast Stream, but I found out that I missed the deadline for 2020 start (it was last year October)

Museum and Archive opportunities are rare to non-existent

Not really interested in practicing law, as I have to pay for the LPC and then hope for a training contract (long and complicated process)

Can someone please offer advice on other career routes?

Btw, I am a BAME, so interested in diversity and inclusion. All my degrees have been from London universities
lasanwil
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by JuliusCaesar89)
I am a PhD in History with a MA in Medical Law and LLB in Law (I will submit my PhD thesis in August). Though I have multiple degrees, I am very worried about my job prospects after PhD. Work experience is not really on my side as I have never had a full time paid job- I do have short term research and teaching positions.

Lecturing jobs and postdocs in History are so rare, so a career in academia just seems like an impossibility for now.